Medical Media Images

Monday, April 7, 2014

The Main "Sections" of our Back explained with a Color MRI of the Whole Body!

                 What are the different "Sections" of our Back?

Our Spine has 4 different Sections: 1. Cervical (Neck)
                                                         2. Thoracic (Mid-Back)
                                                         3. Lumbar (Low-Back)
                                                         4. Sacral (Tail-Bone)

The Whole Body Color MRI Image below shows each section with the Medical Numbering System included:

Color MRI of the Whole Body showing the different Sections of the Spine
Whole Body Color MRI Image showing the Spine Sections
The Neck (Cervical Spine) has 7 Vertebrae (C-1 to C-7) which connect to the base of the skull at its top and to the mid-back Vertebrae at its bottom
The Mid-Back (Thoracic Spine) has 12 Vertebrae (T-1 to T-12) which connect to the bottom of the Neck Vertebrae at its top and to the top of the Low-Back Vertebrae at its bottom.
The Low-Back (Lumbar Spine) has 5 Vertebrae (L-1 to L-5) which connect to the bottom of the Mid-Back at its top and to the top of  the Tail-Bone at its bottom.
The Tail-Bone (Sacral Spine) consists of a large bone called the Sacrum and smaller bones called the Coccyx at its bottom end.

Images like this one are available for Licensing at our company website

The above text and image are Copyright Medical Media Images

General Disclaimer

Medical Media Images does NOT dispense medical or legal advice. Our images, text and any content cannot be used for diagnosis or treatment of a medical condition. All Images and content are for information purposes only. You must consult with your physician if you need medical advice. Medical Media Images is not a substitute for medical advice.

No comments:

Post a Comment